Soul Train Awards 2021

The Soul Train Awards took place Sunday night at The Apollo Theater in New York City. Tichina Arnold and Tisha Campbell opened and hosted the show for the fourth time. H.E.R. had the most nominations (eight) and Chris Brown came in second place with seven. Maxwell received the Legend Award and performed some of his music. Ashanti took home the Lady Of Soul Award and she gave a performance of her hits. Bruno Mars and anderson.paak’s Silk Sonic won Video Of The Year, the Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award and Song Of The Year for “Leave The Door Open.” Jazmine Sullivan won Album Of The Year for Heaux Tales. Summer Walker, Ari Lennox and Lucky Daye were among the performers. Cassidy’s Pass The Mic  had appearances from Gloria Gaynor, Stephanie Mills, Cherrelle and more. For the full list of winners and all of the performances check out BET’s homepage. Don Cornelius’s award show is in its 34th year. 



Watch Brandy, Jazmine Sullivan, Smokey Robinson, Charlie Wilson, CeeLo Green, Monica & More Perform At The 2020 Soul Train Awards

Tichina Arnold and Tisha Campbell hosted the 2020 Soul Train Awards last night. Megan Thee Stallion, H.E.R. and Chris Brown took home honors. CeeLo Green, Jazmine Sullivan, Brandy, Smokey Robinson, Charlie Wilson, Shanice, PJ Morton, Chanté Moore, Stokley and Babyface were among the performers. Monica accepted the Lady of Soul Award and she sang a medley of her hits. A full list of the winners can be found here. BET will air an encore presentation of the show Sunday at 8 PM ET. 

Actresses Tichina Arnold, Chandra Wilson, Laila Ali, Claudia Jordan and Former NFL Curtis Conway Celebrate Little Miss Pageant

Los Angeles – Acknowledging the nation’s very own First Family African American Little Misses, Sasha and Malia Obama, the Annual Little Miss African American Scholarship Pageant will turn “Sweet Sixteen” this year on Sunday, August 16, 2009 at 4:00 p.m. at the Universal Sheraton Hotel. The Universal Sheraton Hotel is located at 333 Universal Terrace Parkway in Universal City, CA.

A parade of aspiring Little Misses, ages 6 to 12, along with alumni, will display their C.A.P.’s of confidence,awareness and pride before a panel of celebrity guests to include Tichina Arnold (“Everybody Hates Chris”), former NFL player, Curtis Conway, and Extra TV’s Nischelle Turner. Chandra Wilson (ABC’s Grey’s Anatomy), World Boxing Champion Laila Ali, James Pickens Jr., (Grey’s Anatomy), screenwriter Antwone Fisher, sports analyst Marcellus Wiley, Fox 11’s Tony McEwing and the Hollywood Black Film Festival’s Tanya Kersey return as well to once again judge the event. Media personality Claudia Jordan serves as host this year.

“Every year is a special year for us, but there is something about
your Sweet Sixteen which adds to the occasion,” offers pageant producer,choreographer/actress Lisa Ruffin. “Our Little Misses have their very own role models in Sasha and Malia Obama this year. They are shining examplesof the world of possibilities available to these young women as they pursue their dreams.It’s an exciting time for all.”

LMAA is a non-profit educational program designed to showcase the creative and academic talents of young girls living in urban centers throughout the country. The pageant provides an early introduction to the arts and training in public speaking,while promoting individual creativity and stimulating a heightened cultural understanding.It is the largest scholarship pageant for African American girls of this age group.

Created by Lisa Ruffin in 1993, LMAA has raised thousands of dollars towards the educational aspirations of its participants as well as their families. Thousands of lives have been touched and changed through the program.

To purchase tickets and to learn more about LMAA, go to