The Angel ft. Jhelisa “Ultra Light” – progressive soul/downtempo

“Ultra Light” by The Angel ft. Jhelisa

This is a slice of downtempo/progressive soul goodness, with a heavy dubby bassline. The Angel’s production paired with Jhelisa’s soulful vocals make this a magical collaboration.
The Angel is an accomplished producer/composer who has scored films such as Boiler Room, Kidulthood and many others. Her productions as an artist range from hip-hop to drum n’ bass to dub and downtempo.

Jhelisa is perhaps best known the soul/acid jazz classic “Friendly Pressure”, although she has many more credits to her name. Check The Angel’s blog for more info on this single and their work together.

“Ultra Light” (with several remixes) is out now at iTunes:

The Angel links:

Jhelisa links:

Mystic, Tre Hardson, Divine Styler featured on: Supa Crucial Downtempo Remixes & Rarities

Producer/composer The Angel has always discovered and worked with cutting edge talent. This compilation unearths some of those unique collaborations that run the spectrum from dubbed-out downtempo to underground hip-hop.

Out This Week….Supa Crucial Downtempo Remixes & Rarities

This album charts many of the collaborations thorugh The Angel’s career. From back in the day; the one-time Garth Trinidad (KCRW) favorite by Jaz Klash, “Thru The Haze (The Angel Remix),” where The Angel remixed her jazzy dnb collaboration with Bristol’s More Rockers, to new remixes courtesy of DJ Drez, who gives both versions of The Angel’s “Destiny Complete” feat Mystic, the Jahta treatment. Divine Styler appears on the album on both sides of the mixing board; remixing The Angel’s “Make It Betta” (feat Tre Hardson), originally a limited vinyl only release, while also guesting on vocals on both the “Act I” and “Act III” mixes of “Act As If.” The Dread Flimstone & Pale Face remix redub of 60 Channels’ “Ride With The Flow,” originally a limited vinyl only release, the O.G. version of which was featured in the TV shows “Six Feet Under” and “La Femme Nikita.” Headset’s (Plug Research) unreleased remix of “OK…Alright” by Mystic, recently unearthed, available here for the first time. Tre Hardson “10 Million Ways,” produced by The Angel is also previously unreleased.

“Make It Betta” (Divine Styler Remix) The Angel ft. Tre Hardson

“Ride With The Flow” (Reflow Remix Redub) 60 Channels feat. Navigator & Cokni O’Dire

iTunes for purchase:

If you are a member of IODA’s Promonet you can access a promotional download of The Angel “Destiny Complete (Bittersweet Version)” ft Mystic & DJ Drez

Check out Tre Hardson DJ-ing a set of songs from his collabs with The Angel and his own catalogue:

1 Baltimore (Supa Crucial Mix) The Angel feat. Mystic
2 Act As If (Act III Mix) The Angel feat. Divine Styler
3 Ride With The Flow (Reflow Remix Redub) 60 Channels feat. Navigator & Cokni O’Dire
4 Destiny Complete (Bittersweet Version) (DJ Drez Remix) The Angel feat. Mystic
5 Make It Betta (Divine Styler Remix) The Angel feat. Tre Hardson
6 Thru The Haze (The Angel Remix) Jaz Klash
7 OK…Alright (Headset Remix) Mystic
8 Ride With The Flow (Supa Crucial Mix) 60 Channels feat. Navigator & Cokni O’Dire
9 10 Million Ways Tre Hardson
10 Destiny Complete (Ming+FS Remix) The Angel feat. Mystic
11 Steppin’ To Tha Lite The Angel feat. CB, Blake & Cokni O’Dire
12 Act As If (Act I Mix) The Angel feat. Divine Styler
13 Thru The Haze (Spearhead Blak Militia Remix Redub) Jaz Klash
14 Destiny Complete (DJ Drez Remix) The Angel feat. Mystic