Talib Kweli, Elzhi & Phonte- No Competition


Talib Kweli, Elzhi and Phonte represent for the Jamla Army compilation coming out next week with “No Competition.” Khrysis produced the song for Jamla Is The Squad which drops on January 28th.

Rapsody-Facts Only


“Facts Only” is a Khrysis-produced bonus track from Rapsody’s She Got Game deluxe iTunes version that came out today.

JC Poppe Releases New Single – “Dribble” Produced By 88-Keys

In advance of the summer release of his 2nd album, JC Poppe has released his first single “Dribble” (produced by 88-Keys), a throwback kind of track that has a laid back feel and lyrics that are reminiscent of a time before the Bling and Crunk eras of Hip-Hop.

Poppe’s 2nd album Tea Party is being readied for release in late summer and features production from Khrysis, Double 0 of Kidz in the Hall, and 88-Keys. Tea Party is an album of reflection and forward movement, and has nothing to do with the current political activists who hold “tea parties” as protests.

Listen to JC Poppe -Dribble (Final)

Stream: “Dribble.”

Myspace – http://www.myspace.com/jcpoppe

Twitter – http://twitter.com/jcpoppe

Hall Of Justus Member L.E.G.A.C.Y. To Release Sophomore LP Suicide Music

L.E.G.A.C.Y. is an acronym for Life Ends Gradually and Changes You. A member of the highly artistic North Carolina based “Justus League’ (Little Brother, Khrysis, Chaundon, Cesar Comanche, Joe Scudda, etc) he has recorded a series of mixtapes, joint collaborations with every member of the “Justus League” and his debut, Project Mayhem, (2005) which was chiefly produced by 9th Wonder. With his first studio LP in over four eyars, on 6-16-09 L.E.G.A.C.Y. culminates his eight year plus run as a member of the “Justus League” with his finest work to date; his sophomore LP Suicide Music.

The initial recording sessions for L.E.G.A.C.Y.’s sophomore LP took on a completely different direction after he recorded what would go onto to be the title track, as he comments “originally I had a completely different angle for the album, but after playing “Suicide Music” for a few people (including Phonte, who I really respect musically) they felt I should build the album around it. The actual term “Suicide Music” came from a conversation I had with my manager and he was being sarcastic about the dark music I make. I took it, ran with it and created what I feel could go down as a certified classic.”

Though Suicide Music is entirely produced by Khrysis (Little Brother, Away Team, Sean Price) it was not planned that way as L.E.G.A.C.Y. laments “Khrysis producing the whole album was not the initial plan., I would take him beats from other producers and songs I did with other producers that were dope, but he would brush them off and play me some tracks he did, or make something fresh on the spot and we would end up recording those instead. Khrysis really challenged me recording this album, I’m a Fonzi dude (cool) and it takes a lot to get me upset, but Khrysis really pushed me to my limits recording this album.”

With the massive posse cut “T.K.O.” f/Phonte, Sean Price and Chandon from Suicide Music already making the rounds on the Internet and garnering major accolades its obvious that L.E.G.A.C.Y. and Khrysis have created a special LP, as Khrysis reiterates “I’m very proud of what we’ve created and I believe this is some of our best work to date, as individuals and as a unit. I really wanted each song to have its own personality, without straying away from the main theme we conceptualized; and I feel we accomplished that.”

Track listing and Credits for L.E.G.A.C.Y.’s “Suicide Music”:

1.) Intro
2.) Suicide Music
3.) The Age (Fish)
4.) Bang
5.) Cornered Room
6.) Connector Man
7.) TKO “F/Phonte, Sean Price and Chaundon
8.) Policia
9.) The Greatest f/Mela Pachinko & Dasan Ahanu
10.) Fly So High
11.) Looking Glass

****All Tracks Produced By Khrysis