Kemba-Negus Album Stream

Kemba delivers his Negus album as promised today and the songs are reflections on Black life in the past, present and future. You can download it for free or name your price on his Bandcamp page.

KEMBA-The New Black Theory

[youtube id=”G5MdD9NLXg4″] YC The Cynic has reinvented himself as KEMBA and “The New Black” is the first single from his upcoming Negus debut album. The song references Pharrell Williams’s term that positions Blackness as a mentality that is free from victimhood and asserts itself through mental stamnia. KEMBA is  also talking about respectability politics and uses the likeness of Raven Symone for the artwork as an example. He describes it as “A portrait of the oft tone-deaf, oft-offensive, torch bearer of the New Black theory Raven-Symoné.” Negus comes out independently on July 22nd via all digital platforms.


Tracklisting for Negus:
1. FLY (Intro)
2. Caesar’s Rise
3. Kings & Queens
4. The New Black Theory
5. Super Hero
6. Already
7. Psyrens (Curious)
8. Greed
9. Heartbeat
10. Hallelujah
11. We Made It
12. Brown Skin Jesus (Outro)