1

Rakim Thank You World Of Hip Hop Concert May 13th

Rakim announces his Thank You World Of Hip-Hop Concert that will be live-streamed on the Moment House platform. The show will air globally on May 13th and May 14th. Richie Dollaz of VH1 will host and DJ Flemingo will provide music.

Livestream Schedule By Territory
North + South America
May 13th, 6 PM PT / 9 PM ET
Asia, Australia & New Zealand
May 14th, 6 PM JST / 7 PM AEST
Europe, UK & Africa
May 14th, 6 PM BST



Throwback: Rakim-When I B On Tha Mic

Rakim’s solo sophomore album The Master found him tipping his crown as the inventor of the coolest rhyme flow. “When I B On Tha Mic” proved that Rakim still had a commanding voice 12 years after debuting and being pegged as an instant legend. DJ Premier’s steady snares and jazzy piano formed a solid square for Rakim’s lyrics to stand on. His production made the words hit harder especially when Rakim’s phrase “I’m internationally known” was repeated with his signature calm tone. The Master was his last album to be released in the ’90s and his third solo album, The Seventh Seal would arrive 10 years later in 2009. In 2016, he reunited with Eric B. after being apart for more than two decades. Fans were surprised to hear Rakim on the “E.L.E. 2 Intro” from Busta Rhymes’ Extinction Level Event 2: The Wrath Of God album released in 2020.