RJ’s Latest Arrival Releases Remastered Shackles Album Following BMF Feature


Detroit R&B/funk group RJ’s Latest Arrival has released a remastered version of their sophomore album Harmony under the title Shackles. “Shackles” the title track, was recently featured in the second season third episode of STARZ’s BMF series. The drama centers around the Flenory brothers’ narcotics empire started in Detroit during the ’80s and so far the soundtrack has authentically presented the music from that time period. “Shackles” was loved locally and became a Top Ten hit later sampled in Nas’ “You Owe Me.” RJ’s Latest Arrival was known for its blend of funk, R&B and New Wave sounds that made “Shackles” a dancefloor necessity. The group had regional success with their 1978 single “Crystal” but it was “Shackles” in 1984 that introduced them to a national audience. They would later have more acclaim with “Heaven In Your Arms” and 17 charted R&B singles. 

Group leader Ralph “RJ” Rice also produced songs for The Barkays, The Pet Shop Boys, singer-songwriter Poe, Color Me Badd, Kurupt and Ice Cube. When RJ’s Latest Arrival disbanded in 1990 Rice founded Barak Records. The label was a recording lab for several Detroit hip-hop artists including J.Dilla, Slum Village, Phat Kat, Guilty Simpson and Marv One. Rice’s son, Young RJ was mentored by Dilla and is a member of Slum Village. 

The Shackles remaster is available via  Rice’s Neastra Music.