Janet Jackson’s Velvet Rope 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Coming Out This Week


Janet Jackson’s Velvet Rope album turns 25 this Friday and to celebrate the occasion a deluxe edition that has two rare cuts (“God’s Stepchild and “Accept Me” ) and 13 remixes will be available. J.Dilla’s Ummah remix of “Got Til It’s Gone” Teddy Riley’s TNT remix of “I Get Lonely” and the Missy/Timbaland remix of “Go Deep” is included in the release. There are club remixes from Tony Humphries, David Morales, Frankie Knuckles and Masters At Work. October 7th will also be the date when some of Jackson’s videos are released in HD including “Got Til It’s Gone,” “Go Deep,” “I Get Lonely” “You” and “Together Again (Deeper Remix).” Jackson’s Velvet Rope was daring for its exploration of sexuality, mental health and domestic violence when it was released in 1997. The album is one of Jackson’s most influential works and it debuted at no.1 on the Billboard 200 and “Go Deep” was a no.1 dance hit. You can pre-order The Velvet Rope: Deluxe Edition here

The Velvet Rope Deluxe Edition Tracklisting 

Component 1:
1. Interlude -Twisted Elegance
2. Velvet Rope [feat. Vanessa-Mae]
3. You
4. Got ‘Til It’s Gone [feat. Q-Tip & Joni Mitchell]
5. Interlude – Speaker Phone
6. My Need
7. Interlude – Fasten Your Seatbelts
8. Go Deep
9. Free Xone
10. Interlude – Memory
11. Together Again
12. Interlude – Online
13. Empty
14. Interlude – Full
15. What About
16. Every Time
17. Tonight’s The Night
18. I Get Lonely
19. Rope Burn
20. Anything
21. Interlude – Sad
22. Special
23. Can’t Be Stopped
24. Accept Me [Bonus Track] *
25. God’s Stepchild [Bonus Track] *

Component 2:
1. I Get Lonely (TNT Remix Edit) with BLACKstreet *
2. Got ‘Til It’s Gone (Ummah Jay Dee’s Revenge Mix) *
3. Go Deep (Timbaland/Missy Remix) featuring Missy “Misdemeanor” Elliott *
4. Together Again (Jimmy Jam Deeper Mix) *
5. Every Time (Jam & Lewis Disco Mix)
6. I Get Lonely (Jam & Lewis Feel My Bass Mix) *
7. Got ‘Til It’s Gone (David Morales & Frankie Knuckles Def Club Mix) *
8. Together Again (Tony Moran 12″ Club Mix) *
9. Go Deep (Masters at Work Thunder Mix) *
10. Together Again (Tony Humphries Club Mix Edit)
11. I Get Lonely (Jason vs. Janet The Club Remix)
12. Go Deep (Masters At Work Vocal Deep Disco Dub)
13. Got ‘Til It’s Gone (Armand Van Helden Bonus Beats)