Soul Train Awards 2021


The Soul Train Awards took place Sunday night at The Apollo Theater in New York City. Tichina Arnold and Tisha Campbell opened and hosted the show for the fourth time. H.E.R. had the most nominations (eight) and Chris Brown came in second place with seven. Maxwell received the Legend Award and performed some of his music. Ashanti took home the Lady Of Soul Award and she gave a performance of her hits. Bruno Mars and anderson.paak’s Silk Sonic won Video Of The Year, the Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award and Song Of The Year for “Leave The Door Open.” Jazmine Sullivan won Album Of The Year for Heaux Tales. Summer Walker, Ari Lennox and Lucky Daye were among the performers. Cassidy’s Pass The Mic  had appearances from Gloria Gaynor, Stephanie Mills, Cherrelle and more. For the full list of winners and all of the performances check out BET’s homepage. Don Cornelius’s award show is in its 34th year.