Naomi Campbell, Yara Shahidi, Stacey Abrams & Tommie Smith To Be Honored At 2020 Bounce Awards


The Bounce Trumpet Awards has announced its 2020 honorees. This year’s 29th annual ceremony is called The Bounce Trumpet Awards: Stand Up and it is intended to recognize those who have chosen to fight the social injustices faced by African Americans. Georgia political leader Stacey Abrams will receive the Valor Award which honors the individual who faces conflict with bravery as she did with her Fair Fight Action voter awareness organization that worked to help facilitate a record turnout for the 2020 election. 

Yara Shahidi, who is known as an actress on the TV shows Grown-ish and Black-ish, will receive the Trailblazer Award.  The honor is for pioneers who inspire others to follow their path to greatness while challenging the status quo. Shahidi founded WeVoteNext (formerly Eighteen x 18) with Now This News to encourage voting for the 2018 and 2020 elections and has a partnership with the Young Women’s Leadership Network of New York. 

Supermodel Naomi Campbell will receive the Vanguard Award which recognizes those who share avant-garde ideas with the mainstream and makes a social impact in their field. Campbell has called out racism in the modeling industry and started charity relief efforts around the world for natural disasters. 

Former American Track and Field star Tommie Smith will receive the Xernona Clayton Award Of Distinction named after the esteemed founder of the Trumpets, which recognizes individuals who, having succeeded against immense odds, herald change, and prosperity to enhance and enrich the world. Smith’s silent gesture of protest at the 1968 Olympics continues to be a historic and enduring image for athletes and activists standing up against injustice today. 

Singer Mariah Carey, director Lee Daniels, actor and activist Jesse Williams, actor Trevor Jackson, political activist Angela Davis and former congressman Bakari Sellers will help to pay tribute to the honorees. 

Anthony Hamilton, Busta Rhymes, Bell Biv Devoe and Terrace Martin will provide the music. 

The Bounce Trumpet Awards will broadcast on Sunday, December 13th at 8:00 PM ET.