Coltrane ’58 Prestige Recordings Box Set Coming In March


John Coltrane’s rise as a solo voice in jazz after being in bands led by Miles Davis and Thelonius Monk reached an apex in 1958. The work he recorded for Prestige in 1958 was what critic Ira Gitler described as “sheets of sound.” The saxophonist’s time in Davis’ First Great Quintet helped to develop his sound and expand his ideas about improvisation. Once the group disbanded in 1957, Coltrane started working with the Prestige label on his own without Davis’ group. 

Coltrane’s recordings of “Lush Life,” “Stardust” and “Black Pearls” are among the songs included on Coltrane ’58: The Prestige Recordings coming out March 29th on Craft Recordings. The box set has 8 LPs or 5CDs and the digital format. The sessions took place at Rudy Van Gelder’s legendary home studio in Hackensack, New Jersey. The majority of the music recorded then did not get released until the ’60s. The new box set is the first time the songs will be distributed together to tell the story of Coltrane’s artistic direction at the time. 

The 37-song box set can be pre-ordered now and special bundle packages featuring a limited-edition Prestige t-shirt are available from the Craft Recordings online store. 

Collective Personnel:
John Coltrane (tenor saxophone), Kenny Burrell (guitar), Donald Byrd (trumpet), Paul Chambers (bass), Jimmy Cobb (drums), Tommy Flanagan (piano), Red Garland (piano), Wilbur Harden (trumpet, flugelhorn), Louis Hayes (drums), Freddie Hubbard (trumpet), Art Taylor (drums)
Track List:
8-LP Set
Disc 1
Side A
1. Lush Life
2. Come Rain or Come Shine
Side B
1. The Believer
2. Nakatini Serenade
Disc 2
Side A
1. Lover
2. Russian Lullaby
3. Theme for Ernie
4. You Say You Care
Side B
1. Good Bait
2. I Want to Talk About You
[youtube id=”cxWOhUHqmJ0″]
Disc 3
Side A
1. Lyresto
2. Why Was I Born
3. Freight Trane
4. I Never Knew
Side B
1. Big Paul
2. I See Your Face Before Me
Disc 4
Side A
1. Rise and Shine
2. Little Melonae
Side B
1. If There Is Someone Lovelier Than You
2. By the Numbers
Disc 5
Side A
1. Black Pearls
2. Lover Come Back to Me
Side B
1. Sweet Sapphire Blues
Disc 6
Side A
1. Spring Is Here
2. Invitation
Side B
1. I’m a Dreamer (Aren’t We All)
2. Love Thy Neighbor
Disc 7
Side A
1. Don’t Take Your Love From Me
2. Stardust
Side B
1. My Ideal
2. I’ll Get By (As Long as I Have You)
3. Do I Love You Because You Are Beautiful
Disc 8
Side A
1. Then I’ll Be Tired of You
2. Something I Dreamed Last Night
Side B
1. Bahia
2. Goldsboro Express
3. Time After Time
5-CD Set 
Disc 1
1. Lush Life
2. Come Rain or Come Shine
3. The Believer
4. Nakatini Serenade
5. Lover
6. Russian Lullaby
7. Theme for Ernie
8. You Say You Care
Disc 2
1. Good Bait
2. I Want to Talk About You
3. Lyresto
4. Why Was I Born
5. Freight Trane
6. I Never Knew
7. Big Paul
8. I See Your Face Before Me
Disc 3
1. Rise and Shine
2. Little Melonae
3. If There Is Someone Lovelier Than You
4. By the Numbers
5. Black Pearls
6. Lover Come Back to Me
Disc 4
1. Sweet Sapphire Blues
2. Spring Is Here
3. Invitation
4. I’m a Dreamer (Aren’t We All)
5. Love Thy Neighbor
6. Don’t Take Your Love From Me
7. Stardust
Disc 5
1. My Ideal
2. I’ll Get By (As Long as I Have You)
3. Do I Love You Because You Are Beautiful
4. Then I’ll Be Tired of You
5. Something I Dreamed Last Night
6. Bahia
7. Goldsboro Express
8. Time After Time