Shanachie To Release First Afrobeats Compilation


Shanachie Records is getting ready to release the first Afrobeats compilation in the United States. The new style of Afro pop is a mashup of Jamaican dancehall, Soca, hip-hop and African rhythms. Drake’s “One Dance” is an example of the style and the song features Wizkid who is one of the genre’s stars. Afrobeats Hot Hits: The New Sound Of Urban Africa will feature music from Wande Coal, Davido, Tiwa Savage, Timaya, Yemi Alade, Tekno, Wizkid and more. The majority of the artists hail from Nigeria and Ghana but they are American and Caribbean artists represented as well.

Afrobeats Hot Hits is a balanced introduction the style that is spreading around the world. Tiwa Savage, who has sung background vocals for Mary J. Blige contributed “IIeke.” Anthony David, who expressed his love for the genre to this site,  recorded the remix of “I Don’t Mind” with American based Nigerian artist Mic and it is included on Afrobeats Hot Hits.

Afrobeats Hot Hits Tracklisting

1. Davido: Skelewu
2. Wande Coal: Rotate
3. Tekno: Rara
4. Yemi Alade feat. R2Bees: Pose
5. Seyi Shay feat. Wizkid: Crazy (re-mix)
6. Tiwa Savage: Ileko
7. Skales feat. Attitude: Your Body Hot (re-mix)
8. Rayce feat. Davido: Wetin Dey (re-mix)
9. Kiss Daneil feat. Davido and Tiwa Savage: Woju (re-mix)
10.Timaya feat. Sean Paul: Shake Ur Bum Bum (re-mix)
11. 9ice: Economy
12. Falz feat. Reekado Banks: Celebrity Girlfriend
13. Anthony David feat. MIC-O: I Don’t Mind
14. Kayefi: Oreski (Major Notes re-mix)