The Cool Kids-Bundle Up

New York, NY (February 23rd, 2011)
– Green Label Sound today announces another first in its long-term partnership with Chicago rap duo, The Cool Kids. Back in August of 2008, Mountain Dew launched their record label, Green Label Sound, by releasing an exclusive single, “Delivery Man” by The Cool Kids. Two and a half years later, Green Label Sound deepens the relationship by releasing the Cool Kids’ first full-length album, When Fish Ride Bicycles. The album will be the first release for Green Label Sound via iTunes with all of the profits going directly to The Cool Kids. When Fish Ride Bicycles will be available in Spring 2011 and features Pharrell Williams, Asher Roth, Bun B and more.

When Fish Ride Bicycles kicks off with the release of the lead single, “Bundle Up,” made available for free at today, February 23rd. Inspired by the success of their initial release on Green Label Sound, The Cool Kids came to the label first for help with their long-awaited debut album. Chuck Inglish of The Cool Kids explains why they approached Green Label Sound again, “They agree with our purpose; they support our sound and they just want to see it happen – no BS.” Mikey Rocks, other half of The Cool Kids, adds that he likes “having a hip platform to put our album out while having the creative control that we require to make something crazy.” Elated to join forces again, Green Label Sound bolstered the cause by putting the duo in the studio with super-star producer and artist, Pharrell Williams, to help further develop the album.

To celebrate The Cool Kids releases, as well as all the latest Green Label Sound singles, Green Label Sound will throw its biggest showcase to date at this year’s SXSW Music Festival. The event will take place on Friday, March 18th at La Zona Rosa in Austin, TX. Official SXSW badge-holders are welcome. Attendees will be treated to the Music Festival’s exclusive performance by Chromeo as well as sets from MNDR, Classixx, Mac Miller and The Cool Kids.

Green Label Sound, Mountain Dew’s record label, is a new model music outlet designed to elevate and empower independent artists. Music fans can go to to download free music and watch exclusive videos by Chromeo, Wavves, Neon Indian, Matt & Kim, Theophilus London, Holy Ghost!, The Cool Kids, MNDR, Freelance Whales, U-N-I, Flosstradamus and Caroline Polachek, Solid Gold, Amazing Baby, and Kuroma.
Listen to “Bundle Up” here.