Nottz To Release Solo Debut, You Need This Music, On Raw Koncept This October!


Grammy-winning producer Nottz, among the most successful beat-makers to emerge from the Virginia hotbed of production talent that exposed The Neptunes and Timbaland, is prepped to release his solo debut, You Need This Music on October 12th via up and coming label, Raw Koncept. The project will introduce fans to a new facet of his remarkable talent, as he has honed his rhyme delivery to a razor’s edge.

Nottz is a fixture among the industries heaviest-hitting producers who got his start placing his first instrumentals on Busta Rhymes’ best-selling album E.L.E in 1998. From that point, he collaborated with industry luminaries such as Notorious B.I.G, 50 Cent, The Game, Little Brother, Bilal, Royce Da 5’9 and plenty others to amass an enviable resume that he still supplements to this day. Though he has recently dedicated himself to mastering cadence and lyrical structure for You Need This Music, he has still managed to place compositions on upcoming projects by the likes of Rah Digga, Scarface, and the elusive Dr. Dre, who’s Detox boasts Nottz among a very select few guests. It’s work like this that has allowed him to secure his status as “your favorite producer’s favorite producer”, his discography including work for legends of the mixing boards like Kanye West, J Dilla, Swizz Beats, Diamond D and Pete Rock, as well.

On You Need This Music, Nottz pulls no punches, charging out of the gate over a cavalcade of snares hammered out by Travis Barker, and doesn’t bat an eye before jumping into the next number. He handles the entire production workload, extracting the emotive instrumental elements from vinyl clips with an ASR-10 sampler and adding his own lyrics. So goes the 14 track marathon, the pace kept by energetic verses by Black Milk, Little Brother, Asher Roth and Joel Ortiz and tempered by soulful hooks from Dwele, Mayer Hawthorne, Bilal and Colin Munroe. You Need This Music is unlike most producer-centric albums in that it isn’t merely a collection of songs, but a cohesive album of essential hip-hop gems.




1. Intro feat. Travis Barker
2. Fair Warning
3. Blast That feat. Blackmilk
4. Shine So Brite
5. You Need This Music feat. Dwele
6. I Do It For Yawl feat. Kardinal Offishall & Little Brother
7. How Long Will It Last? feat. Joy Denalane
8. A Dream Come True
9. I Still Love You feat. Mayer Hawthorne
10. Dontcha Wanna Be (My Neighbor) feat. Asher Roth & Colin Munroe
11. No Money Down feat. Terese Cook
12. The Cycle feat. Joel Ortiz
13. Never Caugh Slippin’ feat. Snoop Dogg & Royce Da 5’9
14. Right Here feat. Bilal