Rhymefest To Release Long Awaited Sophomore EP Che On May 18th


CHICAGO, IL– Grammy Award winner, Rhymefest (Che Smith), will release his highly anticipated sophomore album El Che on May 18, 2010 via dN|Be Entertainment and distributed by EMI, in conjunction with Rosehip Records.

On February 15, 2005, Rhymefest earned a Grammy Award for Best Rap Song, along with Kanye West, for co-writing the song “Jesus Walks” from Kanye West’s debut The College Dropout. Rhymefest’s critically acclaimed debut, Blue Collar, was released on July 11, 2006, which included production by Mark Ronson, Kanye West, Just Blaze, NO I.D and Cool & Dre and was spearheaded by breakout “Brand New” f/Kanye West, “Bullet” f/Citizen Cope and “Fever.”

Rhymefest’s sophomore LP, El Che, (in stores May 18th, 2010) delivers raw lyrics over epic production and Hip Hop lovers should expect to hear an unfiltered Rhymefest, liberated from the corporate suits and oppressive major label ideals of the prevailing record industry as evidenced by the hard-hitting “Talk My Shit,” “One Arm Push Up” and the frenetic Scram Jones produced “Give It To Me” f/Saigon & Adad. Always one to deliver a cohesive and diverse project, Fest and Phonte of Little Brother drop playful barbs on “Say Whassup” and gets celebratory on odes such as “Prosperity” and “How High” f/Little Brother and Darien Brockington.

As dN|Be Entertainment’s flagship artist, Rhymefest now has full creative control over his projects. When questioned about his new partnership with dN|Be Entertainment, Rhymefest mentioned “I wanted to be somewhere that not only appreciates artistry, lyricism, and originality, but also serves a greater purpose in Hip Hop and the Black community.”

On the heels of releasing El Che, Rhymefest will be releasing his last pre-album mixtape, DANGEROUS: 5-18 on ElCheTheMovement.com this April; Rhymefest’s tour dates (including Austin’s SXSW) can also be found there.

Tracklisting and credits for Rhymefest EL Che LP:

1.) Intro: The Agent
2.) Talk My Shit
3.) Say Whassup f/Phonte of Little Brother
4.) How High f/Little Brother & Darien Brockington
5.) Chocolates
6.) One Arm Push Up
7.) Prosperity
8.) Truth On You f/Twone Gabz
9.) Intermisson: Juan Carlos
10.) Chicago
11.) Agony f/Glenn Lewis
12.) Last Night
13.) Give It To Me f/Saigon & Adad
14.) Intermission: No Help
15.) City Is Fallen f/Slique
16.) Celebration