Amalgam Digital To Release Joe Budden’s Long Awaited Sophomore LP, Padded Room


Joe Budden’s self-titled debut album went gold in 2003, earning him a Grammy nomination for best male rap solo performance (“Pump It Up”). Despite his successful debut, Budden’s sophomore album sat on the shelves at Def Jam for nearly four years; a setback that most artists would not have survived; but most artists are not Joe Budden.

Despite numerous setbacks, Jump Off Joe Budden kept very busy during those years, besides years of legal wrangling and politicking very loudly for his release from Def Jam (which resulted in a very public feud with Def Jam’s then president Jay-Z) Joe was forced to rely on a then new and unproven method (Internet) to release music to his very loyal fan base and he did so by releasing the critically acclaimed and highly buzzed about “Mood Muzik” mixtape series; collaborating with artists such as Fabolous, Clinton Sparks and Joell Ortiz and in the process engaging in highly publicized feuds with The Game, Prodigy and Ransom.

After finally gaining his release from Def Jam in 2007, Budden immediately became an A-List free agent and was courted by a slew of major labels. Always one to go against the grain, Joe circumvented traditional thinking and used his forward thinking mentality to sign with then upstart Amalgam Digital; the booming independent label responsible for launching Hip-Hop’s first genre-specific digital retail store. The move initially raised some eyebrows with the Hip-Hop populous, but Joe’s foresight was the guiding force behind the move; as Joe’s proactive use of the Internet and the response his Mood Muzik mixtapes received online (going from to your neighborhood in a single click), foretold a massive shift in the commercial landscape (coupled with the dramatic decrease of physical CD sales) and Joe was ahead of the curve in realizing that the Internet would not only be the guiding force where the masses would listen and decide upon what music and artists they liked, but also would eventually support and purchase. Fast forward to 2008 and Joe’s move seems even more revolutionary, as there has been a dramatic decrease of physical CD sales and Joe’s recent “digital only” precursor (Halfway House which was only available on and was the first digital-only Hip-Hop release employing both traditional marketing methods—radio, video, commercial radio, advertising campaigns, etc) to Padded Room debuted on the “Hot 200” sales chart—as only a strictly digital release. Halfway House also featured a track from Joe’s super-group, Slaughterhouse, (which also includes Joell Ortiz, Royce 5’9 and Crooked I) and a track from that group “Slaughterhouse” was recently crowned as one of the “80 Best Songs” of 2008 by Vibe Magazine (Jan 2009 issue). Further, Amalgam Digital is now a rapidly ascending record label with established stars such as Joe Budden, Max B and Peedi Crakk on its rapidly expanding roster and the labels shirts are quickly becoming a fashion statement.

Throughout his trails and tribulations with Def Jam and sparring with Hip-Hop’s heavyweights, Joe Budden has largely reinvented himself without losing what endeared himself to fans; his deep thinking lyrical brilliance (can anyone forget Joe’s brilliant “Who” trilogy?). In fact, with his “Joe Budden TV” videos going viral and becoming a staple on blogs worldwide, Joe has to a large extent become Hip-Hop’s “peoples champion” as Joe’s personality and “every man” personality transcends and fans can undeniably relate to his daily life (could a reality series be far behind?).

Joe’s relentless grind culminates on 2-24-09 with the release of his official sophomore LP Padded Room (which has already received rave reviews from XXL, Spin and Smooth Magazines) and the LP’s lead-single “The Future” featuring former adversary The Game is already burning up the Internet and the duo will also be filming a video for the track shortly.

In addition, also plans to re-launch the website store with a new design, enhanced functionality and new features in unison with the same date of Padded Room’s release. To celebrate the release of Padded Room and the site’s re-launch, Joe budden his record label, Amalgam Digital are offering fans exclusive hidden bonus tracks when the Padded Room album is purchased in digital format direct from

“The Padded Room album is crazy. Go out and get it” – Joe Budden

Tracklisting and credits for Joe Budden’s Padded Room:

01. Now I Lay (produced by Blastah Beatz)

02. The Future f/ The Game (produced by Fyu-chur)

03. If I Gotta Go (produced by the Klasixs)

04. Don’t Make Me (produced by Blastah Beatz)

05. Blood On The Wall (produced by Moss)

06. In My Sleep (produced by Blastah Beatz)

07. Exxxes (produced by the Klasixs)

08. I Couldn’t Help It (produced by the Klasixs)

09. Adrenaline (produced by Dub B)

10. Happy Holidays (produced by Quan)

11. Do Tell (produced by Blastah Beatz)

12. Angel In My Life (produced by Blastah Beatz)

13. Pray For Me (produced by Versatile & Dilemma)