Bay Area Legends Keak Da Sneak and San Quinn Present Welcome To Scokland



(December 11, 2008 – Brooklyn, NY) This year represents the official return of the Bay Area as the vibrant epicenter of an ever-changing, multi-layered West Coast sound. In the middle of this re-birth is the Bay Area record label E-HUSTL Entertainment and the release of their latest project, Welcome to Scokland, from Bay Area legends Keak Da Sneak and San Quinn. Possessing the ability to join together the musical and lyrical subtleties of San Francisco (the “Sco”) and Oakland, San Quinn and Keak Da Sneak have produced an album that highlights the distinctive sound of the next generation of Bay Area emcees. Welcome to Scokland is available now online and in stores everywhere via E-HUSTL Entertainment.

San Quinn, originally from San Francisco and Keak Da Sneak, originally from Oakland, are each legends in their own right who have been hustling in both the underground and mainstream hip-hop scenes for upwards of 15 years. Loyal to the sound and vibe of their section of the Bay, but also working to bring the entire Bay Area to a new level, the duo have joined together to re-invigorate the West Coast sound on their latest effort. Speaking with HipHopDX, San Quinn said, “It’s a hell of an opportunity for two bosses to build some camaraderie. San Francisco and Oakland coming together is a hell of a collaboration.”

Coming out of the gates with a trunk rattling anthem, the title track reminds us what we love about the Bay Area. While “Scokland” may get the party started, “She Fine” will finish out the night right, showcasing the talented emcees’ smoothest raps in the form of a modern love song. With Keak’s signature gritty slurs and Quinn’s classic-with-a-twist flow, “She Fine” is an easy crowd-pleaser. “Hot N’ Cool” comes as a tribute to one of the most prominent features of Yay Area life: car culture. Though the subject matter is nothing out of the ordinary, the eloquence and verbal dexterity the Bay Area pair are flexing, paired with thick-bass production and accented with dark horns makes this track a standout.

Keak Da Sneak has been a staple of the Bay Area hip-hop scene since performing in Oakland talent shows as a youngster. With a debut EP (Sick-O) under his belt at only sixteen, and a contract with Virgin Records the next year, Keak has an album for almost every year of his life since, coming in at a whopping 18 solo albums. Keak has lent his signature voice to a number of major tracks coming out of the Bay Area, including work with E-40. As for Quinn, born in San Francisco and growing up on the once formidable streets of the Fillmore, he looked to writing and rapping to prevent trouble from knocking down his door. He got his start when introduced to the industry by JT the Bigga Figga, founder of Get Low Records. JT placed him in his group, Get Low Playaz (GLP) and signed him to his label. While most kids at the age of 14 were playing sports and video games, Quinn recorded his first song called “SFC” with GLP and RBL. His first album, Don’t Cross Me, on Get Low/Buck Fifty Records, followed shortly afterwards at the age of 15 and placed the spotlight of the music industry directly on him. Since then, Quinn has been nothing short of prolific: he holds a Guinness World Record for the Most Appearances on Recorded Albums Before the Age of 21. The pairing of these two Bay giants brings together Oakland and San Francisco in a way that has yet to be seen in the Bay’s illustrious hip-hop history, and is sure to set the standard for future epic collaborations.

01. Lil’ Quinn Intro
02. Welcome To Scokland
03. Blue Dolphin
04. Hot N’ Cool
05. She Fine
06. Hollarin’
07. Copycat
08. Marinated Game Profane Slang
09. Wanna See
10. Back To Life
11. C.A.S.H.
12. Streets Don’t Lie
13. We Can Bubble Up
14. Comfortably Numb
15. Fool 4 U
16. Too Much
17. On One
18. Da Hood In Me
19. Cannons On The Blocks


Label Site: