Now That’s What I Call Motown


Los Angeles , CA — Dec. 3, 2008 —NOW That’s What I Call Motown is the latest release from the hugely successful NOW That’s What I Call Music! series, which has collectively scanned over 70 million units in the U.S. over the last decade. The album will be released on CD and digitally on January 13.

NOW That’s What I Call Motown features 25 of the most beloved, timeless classics, R&B and soul tracks from some of the greatest music artists of all-time, with its release marking the legendary label’s 50th anniversary since Berry Gordy established the original “Hitsville U.S.A. ” at 2648 West Brand Boulevard in his hometown of Detroit .

The tracks include Barrett Strong “Money (That’s What I Want)” (co-written by Gordy), The Miracles “Shop Around” (the label’s very first R&B #1 in 1961), The Marvelettes “Please Mr. Postman” (its first Pop #1), Mary Wells “My Guy,” The Temptations “My Girl” and “I Can’t Get Next to You,” The Supremes “Stop in the Name of Love” and “You Keep Me Hangin’ On,” Marvin Gaye “I Heard it Through the Grapevine” and “Let’s Get It On,” Smokey Robinson & the Miracles “The Tears of a Clown,” The Jackson 5 “I Want You Back,” Stevie Wonder “Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours,” Edwin Starr “War,” The Commodores “Brickhouse,” Diana Ross “Upside Down” and Rick James “Super Freak,” among others.

NOW That’s What I Call Motown follows the release of the 10-CD deluxe Motown: The Complete No. 1’s box set on Motown/UMe, on December 9.

The NOW series has been called the “most successful brand in music” and has sold millions of copies all over the world. Every recent NOW release has debuted in one of the top slots on the Billboard Top 200 album chart. In addition, NOW’s collective releases sell more than any other music property each year. Since its debut in 1998, the NOW That’s What I Call Music! series has sold over 70 million CDs in the U.S. alone and every one of the 28 previous releases have been certified at least platinum, with NOW 5 reaching quadruple platinum and the 2001’s initial NOW That’s What I Call Christmas! compilation going quintuple platinum.

The Best Of NOW That’s What I Call Music! 10th ANNIVERSARY edition was released simultaneously with NOW That’s What I Call Music! Volume 29 on November 11.

NOW That’s What I Call Motown is the first edition of the NOW series to celebrate the repertoire of a single label. The NOW THAT’S WHAT I CALL MUSIC! series is a compilation joint venture from EMI Music North America, Sony Music Entertainment, and Universal Music Group. NOW and NOW THAT’S WHAT I CALL MUSIC! are registered trademarks of EMI (IP) Limited.

An irresistible force of social and cultural change, Berry Gordy’s historic Motown Records made its mark not just on the music industry, but society at large, with a sound that became one of the most significant musical accomplishments and stunning success stories of the 20th Century.

NOW That’s What I Call Motown – Track Listing

1. Money (That’s What I Want) – Barrett Strong

2. Please Mr. Postman – The Marvelettes

3. Shop Around – The Miracles

4. Do You Love Me – The Contours

5. Dancing In The Street – Martha & The Vandellas

6. My Guy – Mary Wells

7. My Girl – The Temptations

8. Stop! In The Name Of Love – The Supremes

9. Shotgun – Jr. Walker & The All Stars

10. I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch) – Four Tops

11. You Keep Me Hangin’ On – The Supremes

12. Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing – Marvin Gaye & Tammi Terrell

13. I Heard It Through The Grapevine – Marvin Gaye

14. I Can’t Get Next To You – The Temptations

15. I Want You Back – The Jackson 5

16. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours – Stevie Wonder

17. War – Edwin Starr

18. The Tears Of A Clown – Smokey Robinson & The Miracles

19. What’s Going On – Marvin Gaye

20. Neither One Of Us (Wants To Be The First To Say Goodbye) – Gladys Knight & The Pips

21. Let’s Get It On – Marvin Gaye

22. Love Machine (Part 1) – The Miracles

23. Brickhouse – The Commodores

24. Upside Down – Diana Ross

25. Super Freak – Rick James