Daryl Hall and John Oates Live At The Troubadour DVD out November 25


Los Angeles, CA – In May 2008, Daryl Hall and John Oates took the stage at the legendary Troubadour for the first time since playing their earliest Los Angeles shows there 35 years before. The best performances from this much anticipated two-night concert, which included hits such as “Maneater,” “Private Eyes,” “Rich Girl,” “Sara Smile” and “Kiss On My List,” will be made available in three formats – DVD, Blu-Ray, and a 1-DVD/2-CD combo, via Shout! Factory on November 25.

“John and I have a lot of great memories associated with performing at the Troubadour, since it was our first show in LA,” said Daryl. “It’s like going back to where it all began for us. We’ve always had an enthusiastic following in Los Angeles, and this is a chance for our fans to see us up close and personal in an intimate setting.”

Beyond the classic hits, the sold-out shows featured rarely performed fan favorites and deep album cuts, as well as Daryl Hall solo material, with the duo backed by a band comprised of longtime member T-Bone Wolk on guitar and vocals, Mike Braun on drums, Charles DeChant on sax, keys and vocals, Eliot Lewis on keys and vocals, Zev Katz on bass, and Everett Bradley on percussion and vocals.

The concerts were filmed by Blaze TV with 10 remote-controlled HD cameras, allowing the viewer to experience the performance as if they were inside the crowded LA club. Although an abridged version of the show will be broadcast on VH1’s Rave HD channel in late 2008, the Live At The Troubadour DVD will be the only way to catch performances of all of the songs, as well as exclusive new interviews with Hall and Oates.

Formed in Philadelphia in 1972, Daryl Hall & John Oates have enjoyed six #1 singles between the mid-‘70s and the mid-80’s, including “Rich Girl” (also #1 R&B), “Kiss on My List,” “Private Eyes,” “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do) (also #1 R&B), “Maneater” and “Out of Touch,” from their six consecutive multi-platinum albums—’76’s Bigger Than Both of Us, ’80’s Voices, ’81’s Private Eyes, ‘82’s H2O, ‘83’s Rock N Soul, Part I and ‘84’s Big Bam Boom. The era would also produce an additional 5 Top 10 singles, “Sara Smile,” “One on One,” “You Make My Dreams,” “Say It Isn’t So” and “Method of Modern Love.”

Daryl also wrote the H&O single “Everytime You Go Away,” which singer Paul Young scored a number-one hit with a cover of the song in 1985. That same year, Daryl and John, participated in the historic “We Are the World” session as well as closing the Live Aid show in Philadelphia. By 1987, the R.I.A.A. recognized Daryl Hall and John Oates as the NUMBER-ONE SELLING DUO in music history, a record they still hold today.

Daryl and John have recently been receiving recognition from younger artists including KT Tunstall, Gym Class Heroes and Finger Eleven, all of whom have appeared on Daryl’s media and fan-praised web show, www.livefromdarylshouse.com, the captivating series that has been receiving kudos from Rolling Stone, Spin, Daily Variety and the influential Lefsetz Letter.

On May 20, 2008, the duo was honored with the Icon Award during BMI’s 56th annual Pop Awards. The award has previously gone to the Bee Gees, Crosby, Stills & Nash, Paul Simon, Brian Wilson, Willie Nelson, James Brown, Ray Davies, Carlos Santana and Dolly Parton.

Shout! Factory is a diversified entertainment company devoted to producing, uncovering and revitalizing the very best of pop culture – The Stuff You Grew Up On But Never Outgrew. Founders Richard Foos, Bob Emmer and Garson Foos have spent their careers sharing their music, television and film faves with discerning consumers the world over. Shout! Factory’s DVD offerings serve up classic, contemporary and cult TV series, riveting sports programs, live music, animation and documentaries in lavish packages crammed with extras. The company’s audio catalogue boasts Grammy®-nominated boxed sets, new releases from storied artists and lovingly assembled album reissues. These riches are the result of a creative acquisitions mandate that has established the company as a hotbed of cultural preservation and commercial reinvention. For more on Shout! Factory, visit www.shoutfactory.com.

CD Disc One:
1. Everything Your Heart Desires (Daryl Hall)
2. When The Morning Comes (Daryl Hall)
3. Family Man (Tim Cross/Rick Fenn/Mike Frye/Mike Oldfield/Morris Pert/Maggie Reilly)
4. Say It Isn’t So (Daryl Hall)
5. It’s Uncanny (Daryl Hall)
6. Had I Known You Better Then (John Oates)
7. She’s Gone (Daryl Hall/John Oates)
8. Getaway Car (Gary Haase/Billy Mann)
9. Cab Driver (Louis Brown/Alan Gorrie/Daryl Hall)

CD Disc Two:
1. One On One (Daryl Hall)
2. Sara Smile (Daryl Hall/John Oates)
3. Maneater (Sara Allen/Daryl Hall/John Oates)
4. Out Of Touch (Daryl Hall/John Oates)
5. I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do) (Sara Allen/Daryl Hall/John Oates)
6. Rich Girl (Daryl Hall)
7. Kiss On My List (Janna Allen/Daryl Hall)
8. You Make My Dreams (Sara Allen/Daryl Hall/John Oates)
9. Abandoned Luncheonette (Daryl Hall)
10. Private Eyes (Sara Allen/Janna Allen/Daryl Hall/Warren Pash)

DVD Performances

1. Everything Your Heart Desires
2. When The Morning Comes
3. Family Man
4. Say It Isn’t So
5. It’s Uncanny
6. Had I Known You Better Then
7. She’s Gone
8. Getaway Car
9. Cab Driver
10. One On One
11. Sara Smile
12. Maneater
13. Out of Touch
14. I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)
15. Rich Girl
16. Kiss On My List
17. You Make My Dreams
18. Abandoned Luncheonette
19. Private Eyes


All New Interviews with Daryl & John

Hall & Oates Live At The Troubadour 1-DVD/2-CD Set

Distributed by Sony BMG

Release Date: November 25, 2008

Selection No.: 826663-11022

Suggested List Price: $24.98

Hall & Oates Live At The Troubadour DVD

Distributed by Sony BMG

Release Date: November 25, 2008

Selection No.: 826663-11013

Suggested List Price: $14.98

Hall & Oates Live At The Troubadour Blu-ray

Distributed by Sony BMG

Release Date: November 25, 2008

Selection No.: 826663-11075

Suggested List Price: $24.98