Lee “Scratch” Perry Compiles His Favorite Trojan Tracks on The Upsetter Collection: A Lee Perry Jukebox (3/20

Lee “Scratch” Perry’s impact on the sound of Jamaican music can never be understated. During a career spanning over 40 years he has taken Reggae to new, often strange heights, with his singularly unique approach to music making. He is a producer, mixologist and songwriter who helped shape and create the sound of dub, as well as having a hand in developing reggae music to be the powerful force in the pop music world that it is today. Many years of producing various recordings have resulted in Perry being a part of some of the most influential tracks in the history of reggae music. Today, 25 years after the destruction of his famed Black Ark studio in Kingston , this enigmatic genius is one of the best known and most highly regarded musicians on the international Reggae scene. His music is continually attracting new fans all over the world.

For this one of a kind collection, Lee Perry has personally selected 45 of his own works that hold a special place in his heart and mind. Opening with a handful of his early Ska and Rocksteady recordings, this compilation carries us on a musical journey that takes in his earliest tracks as an independent producer before moving on to a slew of mind-bending glorious Black Ark cuts, finally closing with a number of more recent outings, including ‘Jamaican E.T.’ from his Grammy winning album of the same title.

This set is the latest in Trojan’s artist choice jukebox series which includes collections from Jonny Greenwood , DJ Spooky and Don Letts.

2007 marks the 40th anniversary of Trojan Records.

Disc 1:

1. Give me Justice, Lee Perry

2. The Woodman, Lee Perry

3. Run For Cover, Lee Perry

4. I Am The Upsetter, Lee Perry

5. Kimble, Lee Perry

6. People Funny Boy, Lee Perry

7. Honey Love, Burt Walters

8. Evol Yenoh, The Upsetters

9. Tighten Up, The Inspirations

10. Return Of Django, The Upsetters

11. Man From M15, The Upsetters

12. Clint Eastwood, The Upsetters

13. A Live Injection, The Upsetters

14. Medical Operation, The Upsetters

15. Prisoner of Love, Dave Barker

16. My Cup, Bob Marley & The Wailers

17. Soul Rebel, Bob Marley & The Wailers

18. 400 Years, Peter Tosh & The Wailers

19. Duppy Conqueror, Bob Marley & The Wailers

20. Kaya, Bob Marley & The Wailers

21. Small Axe, Bob Marley & The Wailers

22. Rhythm Land , U Roy

23. Beat Down Babylon , Junior Byles

24. Words Of My Mouth, The Gatherers

25. To Be A Lover, Chenley Duffus

26. I do Love You, The Heptones

Disc 2:

1. Cow Thief Skank, Lee Perry & Charlie Ace

2. Bathroom Skank, Lee Perry

3. Kentucky Skank, Lee Perry

4. Dub Organizer, The Upsetters (featuring Dillinger)

5. Rejoice Jah Jah Children, The Silvertones

6. The Lama (aka Spiritual Whip)

7. Penny Reel Prince, Jazzbo

8. Enter The Dragon, The Upsetters

9. Hurt So Good, Susan Cadogan

10. Curley Locks, Junior Byles

11. Move Out Of My Way, Bunny Rugs

12. Kojak, Lee Perry & The Upsetters

13. Fire Fe The Vatican , Max Romeo

14. Sons Of Slaves, Junior Delgado

15. Natural Mystic ( Black Ark Version), Bob Marley

16. Bad Food, Seke Molenga & Kalo Kawongolo

17. Judgement Inna Babylon, Lee Perry

18. I Am A Madman, Lee Perry

19. Jamaican E.T., Lee Perry