Tag Archives: Mick Jenkins

Mick Jenkins Shares Video For Padded Locks & Barcelona

Mick Jenkins is only days away (Friday) from the release of his next album Pieces Of A Man. The videos for “Padded Locks” & “Barcelona” are combined into one clip of Jenkins holding court in a library. Dovi Kotto directed video for the songs of which the former has a Kaytranada beat and a feature from Ghostface Killah. Jenkins has shared the tracklisting for Pieces Of A Man that can be pre-ordered before Friday. 

       Pieces of a Man Tracklisting 
1. Heron Flow
2. Stress Fracture
3. Gwendolynn’s Apprehension
4. Soft Porn
5. Grace and Mercy
6. Barcelona
7. Percy Interlude
8. Reginald
9. Padded Locks
10. Ghost
11. Heron Flow 2
12. Plain Clothes
13. Pull Up
14. Consensual Seduction
15. U Turn
16. Understood
17. Smoking Song

Mick Jenkins Shares Bruce Banner Single

Mick Jenkins shares his “Bruce Banner” single as he gets ready to release his Pieces Of A Man album in the fall. The new song is straight bragging to the point that Jenkins promises that Kendrick Lamar is his only worthy nemesis. The Chicago rapper told Zane Lowe on his Beats 1 radio show that the album has some collaborations including an appearance from Corinne Bailey Rae. He also likened himself to The Incredible Hulk who surprises people by emerging from Bruce Banner. 



Mick Jenkins: Or More…The Frustration Album Stream

Mick Jenkins uses his inner tension as a point of inspiration on his new eight-song album Or More; The Frustration. He released Or More; The Anxious in November and the current album follows as the second one in a series. Producers Thempeople, Mistermojo and ENG Creation handled the album’s sonic palette. Contrived trap rappers and fame are some of the topics attacked by Jenkins’ pen. 


Mick Jenkins To Release The Or More…The Frustration EP

Mick Jenkins announced his or more…the frustration EP today on Twitter. He shared a release date of “a day or 2 or 3 more” after tweeting about his career frustrations. Jenkins released or more;the anxious last November and it was the first one of his #OrMore series. The music from the series is inspired by Jenkins’ need to be unrestrained by any particular method in his creative process.



Mick Jenkins Releases Or More; The Anxious Mixtape

Mick Jenkins’ Or More; The Anxious mixtape is seven sketches of musical ideas leading up to his next album. His statement about the project describes the mixtape as a creative piece outside of other’s people’s expectations. He says,

“Or More is a project series involving musical ideas and concepts that are currently inspiring the album’s creation process. As creatives we live in a world of time constraints imposed by illusive industry standards, anxious demands of appreciators, or even our own self reflections. #OrMore is a smaller context of this larger pool of thoughts.. a world of exploration removed from the confines of a particular method. Its my way of sharing the beauty in Indecisiveness. Sometimes we have to make music to locate the true music within our being. The first hones in on the ANXIOUS.”

Jenkins’ debut album The Healing Component was released in 2016.