Author Archives: blakcitrus

Earl Sweatshirt-Grief

Earl Sweatshirt’s “Grief” calls out deceitful people and his video of glow in the dark people for the song adds to the uneasiness brought on those he calls snakes. I Don’t Like Shit, I Don’t Go Outside is out now.


Afropunk Announces Afropunk Paris


Afropunk has announced that they’re taking the highly acclaimed festival to Paris, France. The festival will take place May 23rd & 24th at the renowned and beautiful Le Trianon located in the heart of Paris with performances by AFROPUNK veteran Lianne La Havas, Willow Smith, Jaden Smith, Leon Bridges, Youth Man, Keziah Jones, Patrice, The Bots, Young Paris and more TBA soon. The festival will also serve as a cultural experience with food, live painting by local artists, an acoustic stage and more. The festival is being thrown in conjunction with one of France’s most respected production teams, Nous Production. You can purchase tickets here:


Mar-Not Like Here

Mar has announced a new forthcoming EP, When We Meet. “Not Like Here” is co-produced by Mar and Beau Damian and it is the first preview of the EP.


Billy Cobham’s Spectrum 40 April 18 At Jazz Cafe


BILLY IS BACK IN JAZZ CAFE!!!!! With his SPECTRUM 40 BAND : Dean Brown – guitar, Ric Fierabracci – bass, and Gary Husband on keyboards and one of the greatest drummers in history irrespective of genre, and will be performing two shows (8PM Show SOLD OUT) in the cozy confines of Jazz Cafe, one night only, Saturday, April 18th for two shows celebrating the music of Cobham’s first solo album, Spectrum. The quartet performs in the spirit of the 1970’s Fusion Era encoring their great 2013 tour of the influential album’s 40th anniversary

The 2015 tour is conjunction with the release of the double CD, Spectrum 40 Live. which celebrated the 40th anniversary of Cobham’s breakthrough album, Spectrum—arguably one of Fusion’s most influential works.

Cobham notes, “The Spectrum 40 Tour represents the culmination of my ever-expanding, deepening lifetime journey of creative expression. I am so delighted to return to my roots in the States to share the stage with such stellar musicians on this historic tour, to give audiences a special Spectrum experience and above all, exuberantly celebrate the timeless, universal power of music.”

8:00pm sold out, tickets available only for the 10:00pm

Tickets $35 available at Music Hall Box Office.

Jazz Cafe
Music Hall Center for the Performing Arts
350 Madison Avenue
Detroit, MI 48226a


Goapele-Strong As Glass (Official Video)

Goapele describes “Strong As Glass” as an anthem for women who feel alone and breakable. She chose to film the video in Salon Sea, California because it’s one of the lowest places on earth and she uses it to symbolize the need for women to feel strong even when they feel like they are at the bottom.


FKA twigs-Glass & Patron (Official Video)

FKA twigs’s vogue-heavy video for “Glass & Patron” debuted at YouTube’s Music Awards. “Glass & Patron” will be included on an upcoming EP later this year.


Soap Star Chrystee Pharris is the Queen of Drama with New Faith-Based Indie Film, Film Fest Tour and POP-TV Docu-Series


Atlanta, GA – Soap star Chrystee Pharris has successfully positioned herself as a true ‘queen of drama’ in Hollywood. Not only is she starring in the family faith-based film, “Steps of Faith,” with Ted Lange (“Love Boat”) and Irma P. Hall (“Soul Food”), Pharris will also impact the small screen as part of an all-star cast on POP TV’s new reality docu-series “Queens of Drama.” “Queens of Drama” will air right after the 42nd Annual Daytime Emmy Awards on April 26, 10:00 p.m. ET/ 7:00 p.m. PT.

The former soap star, who played Simone Russell on NBC’s hit daytime soap “Passions,” is also busy touring her new film, “Steps of Faith,” at film festivals around the country as well as conducting her highly successful “Business of Acting” seminars at several of the festival events. After years of dedication, persistence and patience, work efforts are finally paying off for the funny, driven and sophisticated talent.


J.Cole-G.O.M.D. (Official Video)

J.Cole is the leader of a slave uprising in his video for “G.O.M.D.” His Forest Hills Drive Tour Act 1 : Hometown tour starts tonight in New Orleans.


Throwback: 227


227 was a comedic star vehicle for Marla Gibbs who had previously become famous as the witty maid on The Jeffersons. The show was based on a play written by Christine Houston and it focused on Gibbs’s life as the gossipy Mary Jenkins and her neighbors in the D.C.apartment building they shared. Gibbs was the star of 227, sang the theme song and co-produced several episodes. Hal Jackson played Gibbs’s husband and Regina King started her acting career on the show as a her daughter Brenda. Jackee Harry evolved into a national sex symbol for her portrayal of the vampy Sandra and became the first African-American to get an Emmy for playing a supporting actress in a comedy series. Mary Jenkins was married and had typical concerns as did her fellow middle class neighbors and this context allowed 227 to escape any potential claims of pandering to stereotypes. The show ran for five years (1985-90) and then descended into the world of syndicated reruns. Regina King most recently appeared on The Boondocks as the voices of Riley and Huey Freeman. Marla Gibbs and Jackee Harry both have roles on Byron Allen’s First Family sitcom. Gibbs also appeared on two episodes of the TV show Scandal in 2015.


Media Questions Of The Week

The 57th Annual GRAMMY Awards - Show
Is the petition to have Kanye West removed from the Glastonbury festival in favor of a guitar band racist?


Why is Unlocking The Truth seeking to get out of their much-talked about contract with Sony?


Will Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp A Butterfly start a productive national conversation about race?