Daily Archives: December 7, 2017

Kendrick Lamar Releases DAMN Collector’s Edition

Earlier this week Kendrick Lamar’s Collector’s Edition of DAMN was briefly listed on the Microsoft online music store webpage and then disappeared. But the tease is over and the album is out now and as expected all of the songs are in reverse. Lamar mentioned to MTV News that fans had discovered the album was capable of being played in the opposite order.



Jesse Boykins III: Vegetables Feat. Syd & Willow Smith Visual Expression

Jesse Boykins III offers a pared-down visual for “Vegetables” featuring Syd and Willow Smith. It is a simple concept of Boykins mouth being the focus while he chews planet matter. “Vegetables” is from Bartholomew released earlier this year.


Quincy Jones’ Qwest TV Will Launch December 15

Quincy Jones’ Qwest TV will kick off December 15th. The subscription-video-on-demand (SVOD) service is described as the “Netflix of Jazz.” Jones worked with television producer Reza Ackbaraly to create the service that completed a successful Kickstarter campaign in the Fall that raised $170,000.

Qwest TV has exclusive jazz content and archives of over 100 concerts, interviews, documentaries and related content that will be available on computers, tablets and mobile devices. Subscriptions start at $7.49 per month and customers can choose Standard or Premium service with both options being ad-free.

Gregory Porter, Aretha Franklin, Robert Glasper, Sun Ra, Macy Gray, Elvin Jones and Al Jarreau are some of the artists that will be featured upon the service’s initial launch.  The complete catalog can be viewed at www.qwest.tv/catalogSubscriptions for Qwest TV can be purchased at www.qwest.tv .


Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 Releasing New Album Share Black Times Single Feat. Carlos Santana

Seun Kuti & Egypt 80 are releasing their fourth album Black Times in March. The first single is the title track “Black Times” and Carlos Santana makes a guest appearance. Kuti is the youngest son of Afrobeat legend Fela Kuti and he inherited the Egypt 80 orchestra created by his father when he was 14. Black Times is politically-informed music in the same fiery spirit as that of his father. The album talks about worldwide corruption, legalizing marijuana and revolution. Kuti described the project in his own words:

“Black Times is a true reflection of my political and social beliefs. It is an album for anybody who believes in change and understands the duty we have to rise up and come together. The elites always try to divide the working class and the poor people of the world. The same oppression felt by workers in Flint, Michigan is felt by workers in Lagos and Johannesburg.”

Robert Glasper is one of the guest artists on Black Times and he appears on the freedom-fighter tribute “Last Revolutionary.” Black Times has a release date of March 2nd.

Black Times Tracklisting 


1 – Last Revolutionary

2 – Black Times ft Carlos Santana

3 – Corporate Public Control Department (CPCD)

4 – Kuku Kee Me

5 – Bad Man Lighter

6 – African Dreams

7 – Struggle Sounds

8 – Theory of Goat And Yam