Daily Archives: September 7, 2017

Tunde Olaniran Returns With New Immigration-Inspired Single Symbol

Tunde Olaniran is back with his new single “Symbol” and it is inspired by his view of the world as the child of an immigrant. The Flint native says,

“I wrote ‘Symbol’ as the child of an immigrant, under the global specter of violence against black and brown bodies, and in light of the international refugee crisis. Now, with the Trump Administration, black and brown bodies are again held up as political symbols to attack DACA and feed white nationalism. It saddens me that these lyrics feel like they will be relevant for many more generations. ‘Symbol’ is about still finding joy in the knowledge that despite a dark history, we still became the future, and that my body is the literal wildest dream of my ancestors.”

Olaniran hasn’t released music since his 2015 Transgressor breakout debut record. He has recently worked with Michigan artists Flint Eastwood on her song “Push” and Mona Haydar’s “Hijabi.”


Amp Fiddler Releasing Amp Dog Knights Feat Unreleased J.Dilla Beats On Mahogani Music


Amp Fiddler is releasing his fourth studio album Amp Dog Knights on Mahogani Music and it has unreleased beats from J.Dilla. Fiddler was responsible for teaching Dilla how to use the MPC60 and introducing him to Q-Tip. Dilla co-produces two songs on the new album from beats on a ipZ drive that was stolen from him and retrieved by Fiddler. Dilla gave him the beats to use as a thank you for his mentorship.

“Return Of The Ghetto Fly” is from Amp Dog Knights and it features the smooth Ghetto Fly character who Fiddler describes as:

“Dressed like The Temptations every day and had attitude when they walked, they were almost dancing.”

T3 of Slum Village and vocalist Neco Redd are also on the track making it a pure Detroit collaboration.

Fiddler took a break from music in 2006 after the loss of his son and Amp Dog Knights is his second recording since his return. Last year he released Motor City Booty.

Amp Dog Knights will be released November 10th.

Amp Dog Knights Tracklisting 

  1. It’s Alright I (feat.Waajeed& Ideeyah)
  2. Keep Coming
  3. ReturnOfThe Ghetto Fly (feat. J Dilla, T3 & Neco Redd)
  4. Put MeInYour Pocket (feat. The Dames Brown)
  5. No Politics (feat. Andres &NecoRedd)
  6. Grandma’s Radio (feat. Sound Boy)
  7. I’m Feeling You
  8. It’s Alright II (feat.NecoRedd)
  9. Free Your Soul (feat. JDilla& Bubz Fiddler)
  10. I Get Moody Sometimes (feat.Moodymann)
  11. Funky Say So
  12. Good Vibes
  13. It’s Alright III (feat.Waajeed& Ideeyah)

MadMisfit & Zoey Dollaz Collaborate On Action Freestyle Video

Watch Zoey Dollaz’s “Action Freestyle” video directed by MadMisfit. The visual was shot in New York City at the Empire State Building and Dollaz looks like he’s on top of the city. Buda & Grandz produced the “Action Freestyle” for the Miami-based rapper who’s currently helping out victims of Hurricane Harvey in Houston.


Lunice Shares New Single Drop Down Featuring Le1f

Canadian producer Lunice has taken time away from producing for Maybach Music and Good Music for the moment to introduce his first solo album CCLX. “Drop Down” is an uptempo house track featuring Le1f who he previously collaborated with on the song “Umami” from his debut album Rioboi. S-Type and SOPHIE also got on the song that’s destined for heavy club rotation.

Lunice’s CCLX comes out tomorrow and it is described as film scores, hip-hop production and club music.