Daily Archives: April 25, 2017

April 25th Is Ella Fitzgerald Day In New York City

Ella Fitzgerald’s 100th birthday was celebrated at The Rainbow Room in New York City where she had her first big break and performed her last concert. Verve Label Group and the Mayor’s office hosted a ceremony to honor her centennial birthday and called it Ella Fitzgerald Day. Tony Bennett remembered his friendship with Fitzgerald and performed “Our Love Is Here To Stay” at the end of the ceremony.

Verve/UMe just released several re-issues of Ella’s most beloved recordings including a 4-CD set of 100 Songs For A Centennial, and a 6-LP vinyl reissue of Ella Sings The George & Ira Gershwin Songbook.  Later in the year Verve will release a new album featuring Fitzgerald’s classic vocal recordings accompanied by new orchestral arrangements by the London Symphony Orchestra. Order 100 Songs For A Centennial here: https://UMe.lnk.to/100SongsCent and Ella Fitzgerald Sings The George and Ira Gershwin Song Books here: https://UMe.lnk.to/GershwinSB6LP  

Stream The Best Of Ella Fitzgerald below:


Killer Mike Interviews George Clinton For NPR Music

Killer Mike interviews George Clinton for NPR Music and they talk about their histories with barber shops and Clinton’s career. The P-Funk icon explains how he evolved from a hair-cutting doo-wop singer into an avant-garde funkster. Clinton also talks about his connection to hip-hop and how it links back to his generation.


Anderson.Paak, Bruno Mars, Nile Rodgers & Disclosure In The Studio

anderson.paak is on tour right now as the opening act for Bruno Mars in Europe. This video was posted today on Twitter of them in Abbey Road studios with Guy Lawrence of Disclosure and Nile Rodgers. There are no official announcements about all of them working together but the video conjures up the many possibilities. Nile Rodgers will be touring with Chic and Earth, Wind & Fire during the summer and anderson.paak’s band the  Free Nationals will release their album this year.


Shabazz Palaces Comes Closer To Earth With Shine A Light Feat. Thaddillac

Shabazz Palaces is releasing their next album, Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star in July three years after the astral funk of Lese Majesty. “Shine A Light” is closer to earth than their usual sound but still cosmic as it soars on a sample of Dee Dee Sharp’s “I Really Love You.” The lyric video makes the message to “Shine A Light On The Fake This Way” the most memorable phrase of the clip. Thundercat, Julian Casablancas, Ahmir and more have guest appearances on the album that was recorded and mixed by Erik Blood.

If you pre-order the Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star LP on you will receive it on Loser Edition colored vinyl until it sells out and all pre-orders will get pre-release downloads and an early stream of the album. Shabazz Palaces will kick off their 2017 tour next month and you can find tickets and dates here.

Quazarz: Born On A Gangster Star Tracklisting: 

1. Since C.A.Y.A.
2. When Cats Claw
3. Shine a Light (feat. Thaddillac)
4. Play
5. Dèesse Du Sang
6. Eel Dreams (feat. Loud Eyes Lou)
7. Parallax (feat. The Palaceer Lazaro)
8. Fine Ass Hairdresser
9. The Neurochem Mixalogue
10. That’s How City Life Goes
11. Moon Whip Quäz (feat. Darrius)
12. Federalist Papers