Daily Archives: December 19, 2016

Run DMC’s Debut Album To Be Re-Released On Vinyl

Run DMC’s self-titled 1983 debut album will be re-released on vinyl January 20th. The album was the beginning of their rise to becoming the first big commercial rap group. Super-producer Larry Smith added live instruments to Jam Master Jay’s DJ work and created a sound that defined the ’80’s. The album was the first full-length rap album to achieve Gold status.

Run DMC Tracklisting :

A1. Hard TimesA2. Rock Box

A2. Rock BoxA3. Jam-Master Jay

A3. Jam-Master JayA4. Hollis Crew (Krush-Groove 2)

A4. Hollis Crew (Krush-Groove 2)A5. Sucker M.C.’s (Krush-Groove 1)

A5. Sucker M.C.’s (Krush-Groove 1)B1. It’s Like That

B1. It’s Like ThatB2. Wake Up

B2. Wake UpB3. 30 Days

B3. 30 DaysB4. Jay’s Game

B4. Jay’s Game


Common Interviews Serena Williams For The Undefeated

Common interviews Serena Williams for The Undefeated and they discuss racism, sexism and identity. Williams shares personal stories of encountering racism and critiques of her body. The Undefeated in Depth: Serena with Common aired on ESPN.


Watch Kendrick Lamar’s Brooklyn Concert For AMEX

Kendrick Lamar had a concert Friday night in Brooklyn for American Express.  Thirty minutes of the concert was streamed live on Facebook and some fans were lucky enough to join Lamar on stage. Lamar’s setlist included crowd favorites “Swimming Pool (Drank)” and “B***h  Don’t Kill My Vibe” and To Pimp A  Butterfly’s  “Alright” and “King Kunta.”


London Duo Shy Luv Release Cover Of SBTRKT’s Pharaohs

Sam Knowles aka Karma Kid and Jake Norman are Shy Luv. The London-based duo is signed to Black Bottom Records and they have released a cover of SBTRKT’s “Pharaohs.” Their version puts the synthesizer up front with funk and makes it more appealing to the dancefloor. “Pharaohs” is the follow-up to their “Joyrider” single that has gone to #3 on Hype Machine.