Daily Archives: July 18, 2016

Nia Long Cast As Roxanne Shante’s Mother In Biopic

Nia Long has been cast as Roxanne Shante in the upcoming biopic about the Queens rapper. Shante became famous in the ’80’s as a member of the revered Juice Crew and recording “Roxanne’s Revenge.” The song inspired the most response records of any rap song and the aftermath became known as the Roxanne Wars. Shante was inspired by U.T.F.O.’s “Roxanne, Roxanne” and their cancellation at a Marley Marl event. Forest Whitaker is co-producing the movie that is filming right now. Roxanne, Roxanne will come out in 2017.


Suicide Squad Final Trailer: Amanda Waller Is Your Consequence

This is the final trailer for Suicide Squad and this clip introduces Viola Davis as Amanda Waller, who gives orders to the squad and is also known as “The Wall.” Davis said she read M.E. Thomas’s autobiography, Confessions Of A Sociopath to get ready for the role. Will Smith, Jared Leto and Margot Robbie are also in the clip in their respective roles of Deadshot, Joker and Harley Quinn. Suicide Squad will be in theaters August 5th.


Torii Wolf & DJ Premier-Shadows Crawl

Torii Wolf is a singer from Wantagh, New York and she is the first woman to have her entire album produced by DJ Premier. “Shadows Crawl” is from her forthcoming Flow Riiot album and when asked about her sound Premier says, “Torii has such a weird, wicked style, It’s just very left field—reminiscent of a Bjork or something like that. She is so unique and versatile; she writes, sings and is an accomplished guitarist and drummer. But image-wise, there is no comparison. Subject-wise, Torii is in a whole different place.”  Premier and Wolf and are currently working on Flow Riiot.


Angie Stone Covers Stevie Wonder’s I Believe For New Album Of Interpretations

Angie Stone has recorded her version of Stevie Wonder’s “I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever)” for a new album of cover songs. Covered In Soul is an album of 12 songs originally made famous by Wonder, The Five Stairsteps, Bob Marley and more.  Stone just released her Dream album earlier this year and she also has a duets project with Dave Hollister coming out later. Last week she was concerned about her pioneering rap group, The Sequence, being left out of VH1’s Hip Hop Honors: All Hail The Queen show. They were not featured for a tribute but their photo adorned the stage with many other women in rap. And their omission and the audience’s reception to the show is further proof that VH1 or BET should continue to acknowledge the contributions of women hip-hop artists. Stone’s Covered In Soul will come out on Cleopatra Records August 5th.

Tracklisting for Covered In Soul:

1. These Eyes
2. Smiling Faces Sometimes
3. In The Air Tonight
4. I Believe
5. O-o-h Child
6. Every 1’s A Winner ft Eric Gales
7. Red, Red Wine
8. Is This Love
9. It’s Too Late
10. Wish I Didn’t Miss You
11. Baby
12. Brotha



Kool Keith Presents Dane Uno Colors Of Chicago

Dane Uno has been a Kool Keith collaborator in the past and now he’s sharing his solo work with his new single, “Colors Of Chicago.” Uno’s song about the gun strife in Chicago is from his just-released Project Radiation mixtape.