Daily Archives: June 18, 2015

Lauryn Hill Covers Nina Simone’s Feeling Good

Lauryn Hill covers Nina Simone’s “Feeling Good” for the upcoming compilation, Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone. The compilation is inspired by the Netflix documentary What Happened To Miss Simone? The film about Simone will be released by Netflix on July 26th and the compilation comes out July 10th. Hill covered several of Simone’s songs for the project and co-produced it with Robert Glasper.

Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone Track Listing:

1. Lisa Simone – “Nobody’s Fault but Mine (Intro)”
2. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Feeling Good”
3. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “I’ve Got Life” – Ms. Lauryn Hill
4. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Ne Me Quitte Pas” – Ms. Lauryn Hill
5. Jazmine Sullivan “Baltimore”
6. Grace – “Love Me or Leave Me”
7. Usher – “My Baby Just Cares For Me”
8. Mary J. Blige – “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”
9. Gregory Porter – “Sinnerman”
10. Common & Lalah Hathaway – “YG&B”
11. Alice Smith – “I Put A Spell On You”
12. Lisa Simone – “I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl”
13. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair”
14. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Wild Is The Wind”
15. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “African Mailman”
16. Nina Simone – “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free”


London R&B Singer Babs Savage Offers Stream Of New Single What Cha Gonna Do


Babs Savage is a new R&B singer from London following the way of Amy Winehouse, Adele and Sam Smith. “What Cha Gonna Do” is a preview of her forthcoming album, Savage Rainbows.


Frank Nitt-Classic Official Video

Frank Nitt’s visual for “Classic” is a quick look at him and producer DJ Rhettmatic at work against an urban backdrop of graffiti. Nitt’s Frankie Rothstein is out now.


Miguel-Coffee In The 1Xtra Live Lounge

Miguel performs “Coffee” in the BBC’s 1Xtra Live Lounge in preparation for the release of his third studio album Wildheart on June 29th. You can stream 6 songs from Wildheart on Miguel’s Spotify.


Thundercat Shares New Song Them Changes Before The Release Of Mini Album

Thundercat’s “Them Changes” is a piece of throwback funk circa 1978 that ends with Kamasi Washington’s saxophone blowing lines like sketches over the whole thing that’s reminiscent of George Duke and The Brothers Johnson. “Them Changes” will be on Thundercat’s mini-album, The Beyond / Where the Giants Roam coming out June 22nd.