Daily Archives: June 5, 2015

Opio & Free The Robots-Blow Sum Smoke Official Video

Opio and Free The Robots drop the video for “Blow Sum Smoke” from their Subconscious Mind EP and it makes the smoking experience an otherworldly trip that leads to a higher awareness.


Slum Village-Right Back Featuring De La Soul

Slum Village and De La Soul trade verses on “Right Back” about the work of an original emcee. The song is one more reminder that YES! is coming out June 16th.

Tracklisting for YES!:

1.) “Intro” (produced by Jay Dee a.k.a. J Dilla)
2.) “Fantastic/Love Is” f/ Bilal & Illa J (produced by Jay Dee a.k.a. J Dilla)
3.) “Tear It Down” f/ Jon Connor (produced by Jay Dee a.k.a. J Dilla)
4.) “Expressive” f/ BJ The Chicago Kid & Illa J (produced by Jay Dee a.k.a. J Dilla and Young RJ)
5.) “Push It Along” f/ Phife Dawg (produced by Young RJ)
6.) “Windows” f/ J Ivy (produced by Jay Dee a.k.a J Dilla)
7.) “Yes Yes” (Remix) (produced by Jay Dee a.k.a. J Dilla & Young RJ)
8.) “Right Back” f/ De La Soul (produced by Jay Dee a.k.a. J Dilla & Young RJ)
9.) “We On The Go!!” f/ Black Milk & Frank Nitt (produced by Black Milk)
10.) “Too Much” f/ Keely (produced by Jay Dee a.k.a. J Dilla & Young RJ)
11.) “Where We Come From” (produced by Young RJ)
12.) “What We Have” f/ Kam Corvet & Illa J (produced by Jay Dee a.k.a. J Dilla)


Hidden Beach Offers Preview Of Jill Scott’s Golden Moments With Unreleased Song I Adore You

water/bm book 1/04

Golden Moments is a compilation of Jill Scott’s biggest songs from her days on Hidden Beach Recordings. “I Adore You” is an unreleased song from the vaults and the only one on the greatest hits collection that hasn’t been heard before. Golden Moments will be released on June 16th.


Kendrick Lamar Explains How He Wrote King Kunta

Kendrick Lamar talks to New Music Express about how he was inspired by the TV series Roots when he wrote “King Kunta.”


MK Asante Feat. King Mez-Young Bucks Official Video

MK Asante’s self-direted video for “Young Bucks” featuring King Mez was filmed during the recent riots in Baltimore. “Young Bucks” is from his Buck: Original Book Soundtrack.